About Us

The purpose of the WSV is to advance victimological research and practices around the world; to encourage interdisciplinary and comparative work and research in this field, and to advance cooperation between international, national, regional and local agencies and other groups who are concerned with the problems of victims.

The origins of the WSV are rooted in the works of the early victimologists and the pioneering “First International Symposium on Victimology” organized by Israel Drapkin in Israel in 1973. This symposium provided scholars, practitioners, researchers and students with the first international forum to focus on victimology. Successive International Symposia on Victimology were organized in Boston, USA in 1976, and in Munster in 1979, where the Society was formed, and Hans Joachim Schneider became its first president. Since then the Society has hosted Symposia every three years in all major regions of the world:

  1. 1982 Tokyo/Kyoto
  2. 1985 Zagreb
  3. 1988 Jerusalem
  4. 1991 Rio de Janeiro
  5. 1994 Adelaide
  6. 1997 Amsterdam
  7. 2000 Montreal
  8. 2003 Stellenbosch
  9. 2006 Orlando
  10. 2009 Mito
  11. 2012 Den Hague
  12. 2015 Perth (forthcoming)

History and Overview

The WSV works with intergovernmental organizations, as an active promoter of research and program development on victims, assistance to victims, and victim rights. It pioneered a special United Nations’ charter of victims’ rights, which resulted in the General Assembly Resolution (A/RES/40/34) named the Declaration of Basic Principles of Justice for Victims of Crime and Abuse of Power. The WSV’s members represent many organizations in the International Scientific and Professional Advisory Council (ISPAC) to the Crime Program at the United Nations, and serve on its Board of Directors. These activities are achieved mainly through the networking of persons concerned with the theory of victimology and the practice of victim support.

As a non-governmental organization with Special Category consultive status with the UN’s ECOSOC the WSV is involved in the United Nations Congresses (held 5 years apart) and Commissions (held annually, except when a Congress is held) on Crime and Criminal Justice (see UNODC). The WSV is also active with the Council of Europe‘s European Forum for Victim Assistance, with the National Organization for Victim Assistance in the USA, with Victim Support in the United Kingdom, and with other national, regional and territorial organizations across the globe.

The WSV maintains many active programs within its membership. Information on WSV events, projects and other activities can be found throughout this site.

Executive Committee


DR. Janice O. Joseph
Distinguished Professor of Criminal Justice
Stockton University
101 Vera King Farris Drive
Galloway, NJ 08205-9441
Tele: 609-652-4312
[email protected]

Secretary general

Prof. (Dr.) G.S. Bajpai
National Law University Delhi
Sector 14, Dwarka, New Delhi – 110078, India
Visit: www.profgsbajpai.in
E-mail : [email protected]

Vice Presidents

Dr. Sanjeev P Sahni
Principal Director of the Jindal Institute of Behavioural Sciences (JIBS)
Jindal Global University, Sonipat.
Centre for Innovative Leadership and Change
Centre for Victimology and Psychological studies
Centre for Community Mental Health
Member of the Governing Body and Advisor to the Vice Chancellor at the Jindal Global University
[email protected] 
Professor Sarah Agnela Simons
Victimology Sabbatical Professor, Ahmadu Bello University (Nigeria)
Victimology Adjunct Faculty, University of Nairobi (Kenya).
[email protected]


Prof. Dr. Ass. jur., Dipl.-Krim. Peter Schaefer
Mediator Professur für Familienrecht und Kinder- und Jugendhilferecht Hochschule Niederrhein/Fachbereich Sozialwesen
Richard-Wagner-Str. 101 D- 41065 Mönchengladbach

Members at Large

Dr. Jaco Barkhuizen
Head of Department and Associate Professor
University of Limpopo C/O R71 Tzaneen Road and University Street Mankweng Township, Polokwane, Limpopo Province University of Limpopo, Turfloop Campus Old Admin Block, Ground Floor Sovenga, 0727
Dr. Dawn Beichner-Thomas
Department of Criminal Justice Sciences
Women’s & Gender Studies
Illinois State University
Normal, IL 61790-5250
[email protected]
DR. Reyna Faride Peña Castillo
Victimological Clinical Attention and Research
Psychology Faculty
Autonoma Yucatán University
Antony Pemberton
Professor of Victimology & Director, International Victimology Institute Tilburg University
Kamer M 633, Postbus 90153 5000 LE Tilburg
Tele: +31 13 466 3689
[email protected]
Dr. Beulah Shekhar
Director Prism Research & Development
Tamil Nadu
Chair Professor
New Delhi
Gema Varona
Director of the Basque Institute of Criminology
University of the Basque Country
Carlos Santamaria Center, Plaza Elhuyar 2
20018 Donostia/San Sebastián, Spain
[email protected]

Co-opted Members

Alain-Guy Sipowo
Professeur adjoint
École de criminology, Canada
Dr. Diab Al-Badayneh
Professor of Sociology
Nissi P. Monsegue
Broken Walls Victim Advocacy
(868) 778-BWVA (2982)
Dr. Heru Susetyo
Associate Professor
Faculty of Law
Universitas Indonesia,
Jakarta ( Indonesia) 

WSV Awards and Honors List

Introducing the Society’s Prestigious Awards and Honors for Exceptional Contributions in Victimology. 

WSV Scholarships- 2018

In 2017 the WSV Executive Committee decided to offer three scholarships, each for 1,000 Euro, subject to strict conditions.

general committees

United Nations Liasion Committee: WSV

Membership and Advancement Committee: WSV

Standard and Norms Committee: WSV

Communication Committee